Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on Travel found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


Country Profiles   (LexisNexis)
Data and articles about countries from several sources. This screen only allows searching one source at a time. For quick facts on a country try the Country Studies / Area Handbooks from the Library of Congress or the CIA World Factbook.
Country Studies/Area Handbooks   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Each study deals with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political, economic, social and national security systems and institutions. Over 80 countries are featured. From the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
Note: Unrestricted access
America's Historical Imprints   (Readex, a division of NewsBank)
The database makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it includes the more than 37,000 works. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
InfoNation   (United Nations)
A database from the United Nations that allows viewing and comparing the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States; up to seven countries may be selected.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Tourism Database   (Michigan State University Extension)
This site contains information on numerous resources related to tourism education, including bulletins, research reports, videos, and training programs.
Note: Unrestricted access
Bureau of Transportation Statistics   (U.S. Department of Transportation)
"Numbers to move people"
Note: Unrestricted access
Cabell's Business and Educational Directories   (Cabell Publishing, Inc.)
A resource for Business or Education professors, graduate students and researchers seeking to publish their manuscripts in academic journals. Cabell's contains current contact information, publisher websites, publication guidelines and review information for many journals.
Empire Online   (Adam Matthew Digital)
Empire Online focuses on the study of the history of British imperialism and colonization. Will ultimately contain documents from the Oriental and India Office Collections of the British Library, the Bodleian Library, and the Public Record Office and State Records of New South Wales.
AJOL   (African Journals OnLine)
AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database.
Note: Unrestricted access
Sage Journals Online   (Sage)
Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications.
Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1.
Antarctic Bibliography   (American Geological Institute)
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism. Produced with support from the National Science Foundation with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge.
Coverage: 1950-
SRDS   (SRDS Media Solutions)
SRDS is a search engine for media opportunities and marketing information. It includes demographic and lifestyle information for counties and metropolitan areas in the U.S, as well as rates and contact data for national and/or international magazines, digital media, newspapers, television, radio, direct marketing, and out-of-home businesses. SRDS includes 15 separate datasets: 1) Business Media Advertising Source, 2) Consumer Media Advertising Source, 3) Direct Marketing List Source, 4) Interactive Advertising Source, 5) Local Market Audience Analyst, 6) Newspaper Media Advertising Source, 7) Out of Home Advertising Source, 8) Print Media Production Source, 9) Radio Advertising Source, 10) TV & Cable Source, 11) IMG Business Asia Pacific, 12) IMG Business – Americas, 13) IMG Business – Europe, 14) IMG Consumer, and 15) IMG Newspaper (IMG is International Media Guide).
Note: Requires an IE browser on a PC for this database.
Note: SRDS does not work on Macs or with the Firefox browser.
Statesman's Yearbook   (Palgrave McMillan)
Includes current and historical archival information (dating back to 1864) about every country in the world, including history, leaders, population, territory, social statistics, climate, government, elections, defense, economy, energy, natural resources, industry, trade, communications, social institutions, religion, culture, diplomatic representatives, further readings.
American Journeys   (Wisconsin Historical Society)
Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration including the journals and diaries of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download rare books, original manuscripts, maps and classic travel narratives.
Note: Unrestricted access
Omnibus Surveys   (U.S. Department of Transportation)
These include a monthly household survey of 1,000 households each month, which collects data on core questions about general travel experiences, satisfaction with the system, and some demographic data. And targeted surveys to address special transportation issues, as the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) operating administrations need them
Note: Unrestricted access
Background Notes   (U.S. Department of State)
Succinctly covers the history, geography, culture, government, politics, economics, climate, and transportation of nations worldwide. Only selected titles are available in print, but all are on the Web site.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado by the Numbers   (University of Colorado at Boulder, Government Publications Library)
An online statistical abstract for the State of Colorado.
Note: Unrestricted access
Library of Congress International Gateway   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about nations and other areas of the world.
Note: Unrestricted access
International Field Guides   (Diane Schmidt, University of Illinois Library)
A searchable database of field guides for plants, animals and other objects in North America and around the world, classified by type of organism and region covered. Eighteen categories are represented: from animals and edible plants, to flora and fauna, and miscellaneous. Check the Auraria Library catalog to see which guides we have in our collection.
Note: Unrestricted access
Denver Post   (Multiple sources)
   News (LexisNexis) Indexed full text coverage from 1994. New interface August 2007.
   America's Newspapers (Newsbank) Index and full text from June 1989.
   Denver Post (Denver Post) Most stories remain searchable (for free) for 60 days. Access to articles in the Denver Post archives which go back to 1993 are not free.
   Current paper issues (Periodicals Reading Room) Approximately the last week.
   Microfilm copies (Periodicals Reading Room) All issues from 1895.
Accessible Archives: Civil War era   (Accessible Archives, Inc.)
Full text of Civil War era newspapers November 1860-April 1865 : The Charleston mercury, The New York herald, Richmond enquirer.
Bridgeman Art Library   (The Bridgeman Art Library)
An extensive archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world from the national museums to private collections. All are available for licensing.
Note: Unrestricted access
Gallica   (National Library of France)
Digital Library of the National Library of France. Journal articles, maps, rare books and special collections on many topics including travelogues, Voltaire, Africa, classic French literature, and sound recordings. All in French.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Notes   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
Note: unrestricted access
Civil War : A Newspaper Perspective   (Accessible Archives)
Contains the full text of major articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer during the Civil War from the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, through the surrender at Appomattox, and to the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. Chosen articles focus on military concerns, travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc. Allows comparison of opposing perspectives of both Union and Confederate papers.
Coverage: November 1, 1860 through April 15, 1865