Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on copyright found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


Copyright Primer   (University of Maryland University College, Center for Intellectual Property)
The Copyright Primer is an introduction to issues concerning copyright ownership and use of information. The interactive tutorial overviews the underlying principles behind copyright in the United States, outlines the requirements for copyright protection as well as discusses the parameters of use and access of copyrighted material.
Note: Unrestricted access
Publisher Copyright Policies (SHERPA RoMEO)   (University of Nottingham)
Use this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's rights transfer agreement. Find your publisher and compare contracts of different publishers.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Books   (Google)
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. You'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors. About Google Books.
Note: Unrestricted access
Author Rights   (SPARC)
Author Rights is an educational initiative and introduction to the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) Author Addendum, a legal form that enables authors of journal articles to modify publishers' copyright transfer agreements and allow authors to keep key rights to their articles.
Note: Unrestricted access
Creative Commons   (cc)
Creative Commons offers a flexible range of protections and freedoms for authors and artists. A nonprofit built upon the "all rights reserved" of traditional copyright to create a voluntary "some rights reserved" copyright.
Note: Unrestricted access
Project Gutenberg   (Project Gutenberg)
Original provider of free to use (out of copyright in the US) and free of cost online ebooks.
Note: Unrestricted access
Open Access News   (Peter Suber)
The open access movement: Putting peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly literature on the internet. Making it available free of charge and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. Removing the barriers to serious research. Brief overview of OA
Note: Unrestricted access
Digital Primer   (University of Maryland University College)
To learn about issues relating to copyright in digital works and the problems encountered by educational institutions in their use of digital materials for teaching, research and service. For those unfamiliar copyright law generally, please consult the UMUC Center for Intellectual Property's Copyright Primer.
Note: Unrestricted access
Copyright, Plagiarism and Intellectual Property Research Guide   (Auraria Library, G. Bradbeer)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Publish not Perish   (Libraries of the University of Colorado)
This tutorial focuses on the how to and why of publishing in scholarly journals. It includes the following: the role of scholarly publishing in an academic career, essential steps of planning and writing a scholarly paper, developing a personal publication plan, compares and contrasts the different publishing models currently in use, describe the types of articles and the pros and cons of collaborative authoring, and finally describes the tools and resources a scholarly writer needs to have on hand.
Note: Unrestricted access
Patents (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Web Patent Databases)   (U.S. Department of Commerce)
All U.S. patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current U.S. classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent.
Coverage: 1790-
Note: Unrestricted access
Recording Industry Association of America   (RIAA)
RIAA website with sections on piracy and other current issues, a photo gallery, marketing data, and the industry awards.
Note: Unrestricted access
Electronic Frontier Foundation   (EFF)
EFF is a nonprofit group working focused on digital rights. There is a section which advocates for legalizing music file-sharing.
Note: Unrestricted access
SCRIPT-ed   (AHRB Research Centre for Studies in Intellectual Property and Technology Law (United Kingdom))
An online, international, interdisciplinary and multi-lingual forum for articles, reports, commentaries, analysis, case and legislation critiques and book reviews pertaining to law and technologies in the broadest sense.
Note: Unrestricted access
Create Change   (SPARC)
In the age of the Internet, the ways you share and use academic research results are changing rapidly, fundamentally, irreversibly. There's great potential in change. After all, faster and wider sharing of journal articles, research data, simulations, syntheses, analyses, and other findings fuels the advance of knowledge. It's a two-way street, sharing research benefits you and others. From the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition.
Note: Unrestricted Access
Technology Transfer Office   (CU System)
The mission of the CU Technology Transfer Office is to aggressively pursue, protect, package, and license to business the intellectual property generated from the research enterprise and to serve faculty, staff, and students seeking to create such intellectual property.
Note: Unrestricted access
Know Your Copy Rights   (Association of Research Libraries)
A website for librarians who are developing positive educational programs for academic users of copyrighted materials in US not-for-profit institutions.
Note: Unrestricted access
Authors Rights    (Charles W. Bailey)
Author's Rights, Tout de Suite, the latest Digital Scholarship publication, is designed to give journal article authors a quick introduction to key aspects of author's rights and to foster further exploration of this topicthough liberal use of relevant references to online documents and links to pertinent Web sites.
Author's Rights Research Guide   (Auraria Library, E. Greenblatt)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.