Databases by Subject

Databases >> Science and Technology >> Biology
Recommended : 6   Reference : 9   Other : 19   Major Publishers : 2

Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)

Access Science   (McGraw-Hill)
Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences   (New York Academy of Sciences)
Encyclopedia of Life   (EOL Council)
Encyclopedia of life sciences   (Wiley Interscience)
Flora of North America   (Flora of North America Association)
Index to Organism Names (ION)   (Thomson ISI)
IUCN Redlist   (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources)
NatureServe Explorer   (NatureServe)
Plant Sciences Encyclopedia   (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale Cengage)

Other Useful Resources

American Botanical Council Library Access (includes Herbalgram)   (American Botanical Council)
Animal Behavior Abstracts   (Proquest)
Biodiversity Heritage Library   (Biodiversity Heritage Library Project)
Botanicus   (Missouri Botanical Garden)
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences   (Morgan & Claypool)
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management   (ProQuest)
F1000 Posters   (BioMed Central)
Faculty of 1000 - Biology   (Biology Reports Ltd., BioMed Central)
Informa HealthCare   (Informa HealthCare.com)
International Field Guides   (Diane Schmidt, University of Illinois Library)
IUCN Redlist   (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources)
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)   (Thomson ISI)
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection   (Ovid)
National Biological Information Infrastructure   (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
Native American Ethnobotany   (Daniel E Moerman, University of Michigan Dearborn)
Oxford Journals   (Oxford University Press)
PLoS   (Public Library of Science)
PubMed   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Tropical Plant Database   (Raintree Nutrition, Inc.)

Major Publishers in the Field

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences   (Morgan & Claypool)
National Academies Press   (The National Academies)