|
Asia-Studies Full-text Online (International Information Services) Provides access to thousands of full-text reports covering 53 Asian Pacific countries on a variety of business, government, economic, and social issues. |
|
|
AtoZ Maps Online (World Trade Press) A database of proprietary and royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps. Coverage: New maps added monthly. |
|
|
Background Notes (U.S. Department of State) Succinctly covers the history, geography, culture, government, politics, economics, climate, and transportation of nations worldwide. Only selected titles are available in print, but all are on the Web site. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Child abduction laws by country (U.S. Department of State) Child abduction laws by country from the US State Department's travel website. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
CIA World Factbook (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency) The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) supplies dozens of facts for each country including data on geography, people, government, economy, transportation, communication, and defense forces. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Country Profiles (LexisNexis) Data and articles about countries from several sources. This is the main easy search screen, the country profiles search form is in the lower left corner of the screen. This search only allows searching one source at a time. For more quick facts on a country try the Country Studies / Area Handbooks from the Library of Congress or the CIA World Factbook. |
|
|
Country Studies/Area Handbooks (U.S. Library of Congress) Each study deals with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political, economic, social and national security systems and institutions. Over 80 countries are featured. From the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
CQ Politics (Congressional Quarterly) News and analysis about U.S. domestic & foreign policy, including coverage of election issues and candidates. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
European Parliment (European Union) The EUs Fact sheets on the European Union are broken down in two ways -- by Topics and by Contents. These are essentially different ways of presenting the main subject areas discussed in the fact sheets. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Gale Cengage) GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
Heritage Images (Heritage Image Partnership) Heritage Image Partnership is a new online picture library, distilled from the vast collections of our partners such as the British Library, Guildhall and the British Museum. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Library of Congress International Gateway (U.S. Library of Congress) Contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about nations and other areas of the world. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
ODS: Official documents of the United Nations (United Nations) The ODS comprises the full text of United Nations parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. The official record version of older United Nations resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards are stored separately on ODS in the “Resolutions” database, accessible only from the advanced search screen. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
POPLINE - reproductive health literature (Info Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and the U.S. AID) Database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Statesman's Yearbook (Palgrave McMillan) Includes current and historical archival information (dating back to 1864) about every country in the world, including history, leaders, population, territory, social statistics, climate, government, elections, defense, economy, energy, natural resources, industry, trade, communications, social institutions, religion, culture, diplomatic representatives, further readings. |
|
|
World Digital Library (Library of Congress and UNESCO) The Library of Congress (LOC) and the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) jointly created this portal as a collection of high-quality digital items reflecting the cultural heritage of all UNESCO member countries. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Death Penalty Worldwide (Center for International Human Rights at Northwestern University School of Law) | |
| United Nations Statistical Databases (United Nations) |
| China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital) | |
| Country Reports on Economic and Trade Practices (U.S. Department of State) | |
| Country Reports on Economic and Trade Practices Archive (U.S. Department of State) | |
| Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) | |
| Facts on File World News Digest (Facts on File News Services) | |
| Forum Historiae Iuris (Forum Historiae Iuris) | |
| Library of Congress E-Resources Online Catalog (U.S. Library of Congress) | |
| Naxos Music Library (streaming audio) (Naxos) | |
| UNICEF Country Statistics (United Nations Childrens Fund) | |
| World Economic Outlook (International Monetary Fund) | |
| World Population Trends (United Nations) | |
| Worldwide Governments on the WWW (Gunnar Anzinger) |