Databases by Subject

Databases >> History and Primary Sources
Recommended : 56   Reference : 7   Research Guides : 5   Other : 50   

Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)

Dictionary of American History   (Gale Cengage)
Dictionary of Old English   (University of Toronto)
Encyclopedia Smithsonian   (Smithsonian Institution)
Facts on File World News Digest   (Facts on File News Services)
LEME: Lexicons of Early Modern English (on campus only)   (University of Toronto)
OED Online   (Oxford English Dictionary)
Virtual Reference Library   (Gale Cengage)

Research Guides

Colorado History Research Guide   (Auraria Library, E. Metter)
eBooks Research Guide   (Auraria Library, E. Metter)
History Research Guide   (Auraria Library)
Images: How to Find Them Research Guide   (Auraria Library, E. Metter)
USGS Historical Topographic Maps   (Google Earth Gallery)

Other Useful Resources

Accessible Archives: Civil War era   (Accessible Archives, Inc.)
American Journeys   (Wisconsin Historical Society)
American Rhetoric (streaming audio and video)   (Michael E. Eidenmuller, University of Texas, Tyler)
Arago: People, Postage & the Past   (Smithsonian National Postal Museum)
Architectural Index   (Architectural Index)
Cambridge Collections Online   (Cambridge University Press)
Colorado Climate Trends   (Colorado Climate Center, Colorado State University)
Colorado's Main Streets   (Collaborative Digitization Program)
Confidential print: Middle East   (Adam Matthew Digital)
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project   (Donald C. Davidson Library, University of California, Santa Barbara)
Defining Gender   (Adam Matthew Digital)
Empire Online   (Adam Matthew Digital)
EuroDocs   (Richard Hacken, BYU)
European Views of the Americas: 1493 - 1750   (Ebsco)
FAMSI Research Materials: Explore Mesoamerica   (Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.)
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)   (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Center for Economic Documents Digitization)
Gallica   (National Library of France)
Georgia Historic Newspapers   (Digital Library of Georgia)
HarpWeek   (HarpWeek)
Heritage West   (Collaborative Digitization Program)
Historical Census Browser   (University of Virginia Library, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center)
History Matters   (City University of New York and George Mason University)
Internet Library of Early Journals   (ILEJ)
Internet Sacred Text Archive   (ISTA)
Library of Congress E-Resources Online Catalog   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Library of Economics and Liberty   (Liberty Fund, Inc.)
Macmillan Cabinet Papers   (Adam Matthew Digital)
Making of America   (Multiple sources)
NARA   (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration)
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections   (U.S. Library of Congress)
North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project   (North Carolina State Archives)
NYPL Digital Gallery   (New York Public Library)
Oxford African American Studies Center   (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Bibliographies Online   (Oxford University Press)
Papers of Thomas Jefferson: Digital edition   (University of Virginia Press)
Repositories of Primary Sources   (University of Idaho)
Reti Medievali   (Firenze University Press)
Rocky Mountain Online Archive   (hosted by the University of New Mexico Libraries)
Sanborn Maps of Colorado   (University of Colorado Boulder)
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive   (University of Virginia)
SORA - The Searchable Ornithological Research Archives   (University of New Mexico)
The History Cooperative   (University of Illinois Press)
Theological Commons   (Princeton Theological Seminary & The Internet Archive)
This I Believe   (This I Believe, Inc., National Public Radio and Atlantic Public Media)
Turing Digital Archive   (University of Southampton and King's College Cambridge)
Valley Archive   (Edward L. Ayers)
Wayback Machine   (Internet Archive)
Who's Who in American History   (Marquis)
World Heritage   (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)
WorldCat   (OCLC)