- Home
- Find
- RESEARCH HELP
- Research Guides
- Library Services
Look here to find research help, study spaces, technology, faculty resources, and many other services.
- About the Library
- NEWS & EVENTS
- QUICK LINKS
- Ask a Librarian
|
Art Full Text (Ebsco) Full text plus abstracts/indexing of international peer-selected publications, including yearbooks and museum bulletins, covering Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism as well as advertising art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, humanities, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, motion pictures, photography, pottery, and sculpture. Coverage: abstracts and indexing 1984- ; selected full text articles 1997- Note: Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time. |
|
|
ARTstor (ARTstor) ARTstor is a digital library that contains hundreds of thousands of art, architecture, archeology, and humanities images, with descriptive information. ARTstor includes an OIV (offline image viewer). Images may be viewed and analyzed in the OIV, using features such as zooming, panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared use, or creating presentations to be delivered either online or offline. PowerPoint images may now be incorporated into the OIV. ARTstor continually adds digital collections to the database. Note: The current version requires IE7, Firefox 2.0 or Safari 3.0. If you are in an older browser you must upgrade to use ArtStor. The complete functionality of ArtStor including creating folders and using the OIV is not available on an iPad because iPads do not support Java technology. To use these functions you need to use a laptop or desktop computer. Monitor resolution should be set at 1280 x 1024 pixels or higher for optimal use of ArtStor. Try clearing your browser cache if you have problems viewing ArtStor. If you have questions about using ArtStor, please contact Linda Tietjen, Arts & Architecture Collection Development Librarian, at 303-556-4298. |
|
|
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text (Ebsco) A bibliographic and full-text database covering film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews from journals and ebooks. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive. Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
General Reference Center Gold (Gale Cengage) Index to general magazines, newspapers and reference sources, many articles available online. A good source for popular culture, sports, etc. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
Images (Creative Commons) Search for images, browse collections in a webspace where what you can do with the material is explicitly stated. No guessing. You might also want to publish your images here. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
International Bibliography of Art (ProQuest) The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) from the Getty Research Institute and includes the content of the BHA. Coverage: 2008- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
MAS Ultra -School Edition (Ebsco) Useful for high school and community college level research, this database provides full text for over 500 general interest publications, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Emphasis is on recently published material; some key resources go back as far as 1975. Coverage: ~1985- Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
Middle Search Plus (Ebsco) Designed primarily for middle- and junior high school audiences, this database contains full-text for more than 150 popular magazines, and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and pamphlets and primary source documents. Also included: Essential Documents in American History, 116,000 images (photos, maps and flags), and 96,600 biographies. Coverage: Full text 1989- Indexes & abstracts 1984- Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
NYPL Digital Gallery (New York Public Library) The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides free, open access searching and browsing of images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs. Topics range from the installation of the NYC subway system to hot air ballooning. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Primary Search (Ebsco) Primary Search provides indexing and full-text for popular magazines on many topics and pamphlets for elementary school research. It includes the third edition of the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, the Encyclopedia of Animals for info on the nature and habitat of familiar animals, and a large image collection of photographs, maps, and flags. Note: Mobile interface |
| NOAA (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) |
| Images: How to Find Them Research Guide (Auraria Library, E. Metter) |
| Academic OneFile Plus (Gale Cengage) | |
| Academic Search Premier Plus (Ebsco) | |
| Alta Vista Image Search (Alta Vista) | |
| Arago: People, Postage & the Past (Smithsonian National Postal Museum) | |
| Bridgeman Art Library (The Bridgeman Art Library) | |
| Digital Quaker Collection (Earlham School of Religion) | |
| Google Earth (Google) | |
| Google Image Search (Google) | |
| Google Scholar (login required) (Google, CrossRef) | |
| Heritage West (Collaborative Digitization Program) | |
| Images Canada (Library and Archives Canada) | |
| International Bibliography of Art (ProQuest) | |
| Library of Congress E-Resources Online Catalog (U.S. Library of Congress) | |
| Oxford African American Studies Center (Oxford University Press) | |
| Picsearch (Picsearch) | |
| Picture Australia (PictureAustralia) | |
| ScienceDirect (aka SciVerse ScienceDirect) (Elsevier) | |
| Time & Life Pictures (Getty Images) | |
| Yahoo Image Search (Yahoo) |