|
Classical Music Library (streaming audio) (Alexander Street Press) A multi-label database of recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Also available are biographies and images of composers and a concise history of music by period. Music is streamed so off campus users need to have a minimum of a 56K modem to hear music uninterrupted by buffering. Auraria campus students and faculty members may bring a current campus I.D. to the Reserves & Video counter to borrow headphones for use on Auraria Library computers or in-house laptops. Note: Mobile enabled. Look for the mobile phone icon with a green plus sign. |
|
|
Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press) Classical Scores Library contains classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of musical scores. Many items have associated audio tracks in Classical Music Library, so that subscribers to both databases can listen to a recording online while following along with the full score. |
|
|
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest for Chadwyck-Healey ) International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text is a music journal resource with hundreds of thousands of indexed articles, detailed abstracts and full text content from both scholarly and popular sources. Coverage: 1874- |
|
|
Journal of Music History Pedagogy (American Musicological Society, Pedagogy Study Group) The Journal of Music History Pedagogy (JMHP) is a bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open access, online journal on teaching music history to all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics). Coverage: 2010- |
|
|
Music Index (Ebsco) The Music Index indexes (geographically as well as by subject area) international music periodicals and covers all styles and genres of music. It also cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, as well as news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Coverage: 1976- Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
Music Learning Materials (Merlot) Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on Music. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Naxos Music Library (streaming audio) (Naxos) Naxos Music Library (NML) is an online music library offering streaming access to classical, jazz and world music labels including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, Naxos, ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. There is also film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content as well as spoken word (radio shows), amazing nature sounds (see the classical genre list) such as elephant seals, penguins and larks, and resources such as graded music exam playlists. Note: Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser. |
|
|
Opera in Video (streaming video) (Alexander Street Press) Opera in Video is a collection of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. Note: Mobile enabled. Look for the mobile phone icon with a green plus sign. Note: Auraria campus students and faculty members may bring a current campus I.D. to the Reserves & Video counter to borrow headphones for use on Auraria Library computers or in-house laptops. |
|
|
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) includes Grove Music Online (full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
RILM: Abstracts of Musical Literature (Ebsco) Citations and abstracts on international music. Updates monthly. Coverage: 1969- Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (Ebsco) An international bibliography of scholarly writings and primary source documents (journal articles, reviews, news columns and advertisements) on 19th century musical history and culture including ethnomusicology, genres of music, history of musicology, instruments, music theory, notation, performance practice, theory and analysis. Coverage: 1800-1950 Note: Mobile interface |
| Aria Database (Robert Glaubitz) | |
| Bach Cantatas Website (Aryeh Oron) | |
| Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) (ChoralWiki) | |
| Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project (Donald C. Davidson Library, University of California, Santa Barbara) | |
| Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) | |
| Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text (Ebsco) | |
| Library of Congress E-Resources Online Catalog (U.S. Library of Congress) | |
| Musical America.com (musicalamerica.com) | |
| Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) |