Databases by Subject

Databases >> Science and Technology
Recommended : 9   Reference : 18   Research Guides : 2   Other : 95   Major Publishers : 9

Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)

Access Science   (McGraw-Hill)
Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences   (New York Academy of Sciences)
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences   (Elsevier)
Encyclopedia of life sciences   (Wiley Interscience)
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators   (Columbia University, U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
EPA databases   (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis   (Wiley-Blackwell)
Flora of North America   (Flora of North America Association)
Index to Organism Names (ION)   (Thomson ISI)
IUCN Redlist   (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources)
NatureServe Explorer   (NatureServe)
NIST Chemistry WebBook   (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions   (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
PAN Pesticide Database   (Pesticide Action Network)
Plant Sciences Encyclopedia   (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale Cengage)
Prokaryotes   (Springer)
Science and Technology ES   (Smithsonian Institution)
Toxnet   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)

Research Guides

Navigating Library Research Research Guide   (Auraria Library, K. Sobel)
Developing a Topic Tutorial   (Jen Klaudinyi)

Other Useful Resources

ACM Digital Library   (Association for Computing Machinery)
AFOB Online   (Archeological Institute of America)
Agricola   (U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library)
AIP Journals   (American Institute of Physics)
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals   (U.S. Department of Defense)
Alt HealthWatch   (Ebsco)
American Association for Cancer Research journals   (American Association for Cancer Research)
American Botanical Council Library Access (includes Herbalgram)   (American Botanical Council)
American Society of Microbiology Journals   (American Society of Microbiology)
Animal Behavior Abstracts   (Proquest)
Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences   (New York Academy of Sciences)
Annual Reviews   (Annual Reviews)
Antarctic Bibliography   (American Geological Institute)
Anthropological Index Online   (Royal Anthropological Institute)
Anthrosource   (American Anthropological Association)
ASCE Civil Engineering Research Library   (American Society of Civil Engineers)
ASME Digital Library   (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
AtoZ Maps Online   (World Trade Press)
Biodiversity Heritage Library   (Biodiversity Heritage Library Project)
BiologyBrowser   (Thomson BIOSIS)
BioMed Central   (BioMed Central)
BioOne   (Amigos)
BIOSIS Previews   (Thomson ISI)
Botanicus   (Missouri Botanical Garden)
CAM on PubMed   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Cambridge Journals Online   (Cambridge University Press)
CancerNet   (U.S. National Cancer Institute)
Chemfinder   (CambridgeSoft Corporation)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health)   (Ebsco)
Climate Monitoring   (NOAA National Climate Data Center)
ClinicalTrials.gov   (U.S. National Institutes of Health)
Cochrane Library   (Wiley Interscience)
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences   (Morgan & Claypool)
Compendex   (Elsevier)
Computer Database   (Gale Cengage)
Congressional Research Service Reports on the Environment   (National Library for the Environment)
Current Index to Statistics   (American Statistical Association and Institute of Mathematical Statistics)
Current Research @ University of Colorado System   (ProQuest)
CyberCemetery   (University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office)
Defense Technical Information Center   (U.S. Department of Defense)
DOE Green Energy   (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
DOE Information Bridge   (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
E-print archive   (arXiv.org)
Earth Observatory   (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Energy Citations Database   (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
EnergyFiles Portal Search   (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Entrez   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Envirofacts Warehouse   (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Environmental Health Perspectives   (U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)
Environmental Journals on the Internet   (National Library for the Environment)

Major Publishers in the Field

ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals   (American Chemical Society)
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences   (Morgan & Claypool)
Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis   (Wiley-Blackwell)
Highwire Press   (Highwire)
Journals@Ovid   (Ovid)
National Academies Press   (The National Academies)
SpringerLink   (Springer)
Taylor and Francis Online Journals   (Taylor and Francis)
Virtual Journals in Science and Technology   (American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society)