Close Menu

American Indian Histories and Cultures


Summary

The full-text materials in this collection cover 11 broad areas related to Native Americans from the time prior to North American colonization to the 20th century Rights Movement. Areas covered, related to indigenous peoples of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties, wars, trade, and 20th century political activism, among others. The primary source documents in this collection includes maps, atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, and more drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library. Cross-searchable with the Library's subscription to The American West collection.


Explore More Databases By Vendor

Adam Matthew Digital


Explore Related Databases By Topics

United States History, American Indian Studies, Ethnic Studies


Permalink: library.auraria.edu/tools/databases/998

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7! (Holidays excluded.)

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • What Help is Available?
    Please visit our Auraria Library COVID-19 Updates for the latest updates about what services are currently available.

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library and provides in-person help by answering questions about the Library, Campus, or three Institutions. This service also loans anatomical items, technology items (such as phone charges and calculators), plus course reserves, or textbooks, for some classes. Please visit the Auraria Library COVID-19 Updates for information about when this service will be available.

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment. We can help you out via Zoom or over the phone. Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use our 24/7 chat service.

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.