The Auraria Library resumed limited in-person services. For additional information and updates, please visit the Safe Return Plan and Library Hours pages.

Close Menu

Black Studies Center


Summary

The Black Studies Center brings together historical and contemporary material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, which examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays, accompanied by detailed timelines along with research articles, images, film clips and more; the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), which has current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from multi-disciplinary scholarly journals and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals; The Chicago Defender, with 1910 to 1975 full-text presented from this influential black newspaper; ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, containing a thousand doctoral dissertations and Masters’ theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to Black Studies; and the Black Literature Index, which enables users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.


Explore More Databases By Vendor

Chadwyck-Healey, Inc.


Explore Related Databases By Topics

United States History, World History, Newspapers and Current Events, Africana Studies, Ethnic Studies


Permalink: library.auraria.edu/tools/databases/1309

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7! (Holidays excluded.)

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • What Help is Available?
    Please visit our Safe Return page for the latest updates about what services are currently available.

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library and provides in-person help by answering questions about the Library, Campus, or three Institutions. This service also loans anatomical items, technology items (such as phone charges and calculators), plus course reserves, or textbooks, for some classes. Please visit the Safe Return page for information about when this service will be available.

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment. We can help you out via Zoom or over the phone. Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use our 24/7 chat service.

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.