The full-text materials in this collection cover 11 broad areas related to Native Americans from the time prior to North American colonization to the 20th century Rights Movement. Areas covered, related to indigenous peoples of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties, wars, trade, and 20th century political activism, among others. The primary source documents in this collection includes maps, atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, and more drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library. Cross-searchable with the Library's subscription to The American West collection.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Contains letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Africans, and Americans on the North American continent. Many of these primary sources supply descriptions of North America's natural features and interactions among various cultural groups. Searchable by place, year, peoples, cultural/ personal events, flora, fauna, and other factors. Supplies unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples and officials, both men and women.
Full text articles in English and Spanish from Ethnic and Minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Searchable in English or Spanish. Click on the English button to begin searching. Or oprima el boton "Espanol" para comenzar a buscar (utilizando la interface en Espanol).