Search for Databases by Keyword
America's Historical Imprints makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it includes the more than 37,000 works. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
America history and life is an index to journal articles, books and media reviews, and dissertations covering the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. For articles on the history of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s extraordinary holdings of slavery and abolition materials delivers more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years. Long awaited in fully searchable form, The American Slavery Collection addresses every facet of American slavery—one of the most important and controversial topics in U.S. history. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index." Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
Learn societal and cultural details of hundreds of nations through country-specific reports. With maps, data, photos and videos local experts document details of each country's customs, traditions, religion, and daily life including such aspects as typical greetings, marriage customs, foods eaten, music and holidays celebrated. Less detailed reports are supplied for the U.S. States and Canadian Provinces. Build your own comparison tables and graphs about international cultures.
Written by academic specialists, the signed and original articles in this resource range from 100-word definitions to 7,000-word essays. Topics range from specific places, incidents, and institutions to broadly sweeping concepts, covering all aspects of American history and daily life including sports, diplomacy, labor, art, economics, wars, institutions, legends, places, scandals, Acts of Congress, cultural icons, government agencies and much more. Illustrations and maps are also included.
Ethnographic materials covering all aspects of cultural and social life worldwide. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Full text articles in English and Spanish from Ethnic and Minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Searchable in English or Spanish. Click on the English button to begin searching. Or oprima el boton "Espanol" para comenzar a buscar (utilizando la interface en Espanol).
This Project, a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan, is a digital archive of ethnographic videos representing religious, ethnic, and cultural groups worldwide. The collection is designed to be a long-term preservation repository for unedited ethnographic video recordings. Content includes music, dance, everyday life, important events, and interviews. To access the videos, please create a user account. For faster sign-up, please create your account while on the Auraria campus.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, is a compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
The full text writings in this collection includes Subject Correspondence Files comprised of case files, letters, and other related publications and documents, including: Asian Immigration and Exclusion, 1898-1941; Mexican Immigration, 1906-1930; Ellis Island, 1900-1933; European Investigations, 1898-1936 and Prostitution and White Slavery, 1902-1933, and Suppression of Aliens, 1906-1930. Also includes oral histories of those who immigrated through, or worked at, Ellis Island during the peak of mass migration to the United States.
Investiga las noticias y eventos mas actuales, la informacion de negocios del momento, los articulos de salud mas importantes, temas de cultura popular, y muchas otras materias incluidas en las revistas hispanas mas populares. En lugar de mandar un enlace al articulo, mandese una copia del articulo.
Use International Historical Statistics to find economic, financial, and social statistics for worldwide countries and territories, often spanning centuries and beginning as early as 1750. Find data for Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania including countries whose borders have changed. Within each region are chapters on population demographics, vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel files with the ability to merge tables and edit text.
The Oxford African American Studies Center database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online focusing on African American and African history and culture. Includes reference materials published by Oxford University Press, including articles, images, maps, charts and tables, and primary sources with commentaries.