Auraria Library is closed until further notice due to the COVID-19 health emergency. For information and updates please visit Auraria Library Safe Return Plan page.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Art"Results: 20
Series 1 (1691-1820) includes works imported by the colonists, to later titles published on American soil; Series 2 (1821-1837) represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history; Series 3 (1838-1852) reveals a rapidly growing nation; and Series 4 (1853-1865) focuses on the Civil War. Each series also contains news of daily life and broad subject matter, including writings on science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, entertainment, politics, and religion. Series 5 (1866-1912) Themes presented in this series reflect a nation that persevered through a bloody civil war; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.   Series 6, supplied by Gale publishers, complements the content in parts 1-5 of this series, supplied by Ebsco publishers. Please see separate entry for parts 6: American Historical Periodicals Part 6
Activities and games, art & design collections, online exhibitions, teacher resources, reading lists, videos, artifacts and references from the Smithsonian Institution's Encyclopedia Smithsonian (ES).
Full text plus abstracts/indexing of international peer-reviewed journals, exhibition reviews, trade publications, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Covers American, Latin American, Canadian, Asian. and other non-Western art. Good source of information on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, feminist criticism, advertising art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, humanities, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, motion pictures, photography, pottery, and sculpture. Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
This extensive collection covers art history from prehistory to the 20th century. Includes links to research resources, art departments, museums and galleries.
Art Index Retrospective provides peer-reviewed journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins covering fine, decorative and commercial art published between 1929 and 1984. It is an in-depth record of contemporary art history. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art from exhibits to dance to film.
A comprehensive, award-winning World Wide Web index of artists represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
ARTstor is a digital library that contains hundreds of thousands of high-resolution images of art, architecture, and archaeological artifacts. Each image is accompanied by descriptive information. Access to ARTstor also offers our Auraria Campus Institutional Collections including ArchiVision (architecture) and JStor Forum, aka Shared Shelf aka the Auraria Digital Resources Collection (images created and shared by campus faculty).
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) available through Auraria Library.
An extensive archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world from the national museums to private collections. All are available for licensing. Faculty and students should look at the collections available in the Library's subscription to ArtStor.
DAAI provides abstracts covering both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelery, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Dance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Online 24/7 access to more than 100,000 educational films and 300,000 video clips covering a wide spectrum of subject disciplines. Most of these streaming videos are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments. Note this Problem: When saving the URL related to a Films on Demand video or video segment, save the URL in the box marked Record URL which appears when you choose “Share,” below the video screen image. Unlike other streaming services, you cannot save the URL at the top of the video's web page. That URL quickly expires, so don't use that one
Commercial online access to images, footage and music. Many, but not all, images are free to embed on websites, blogs and social media platforms.
Search for images, browse collections in a webspace where what you can do with the material is explicitly stated. No guessing. You might also want to publish your images here.
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) covers peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs, essay collections, and exhibition catalogs since 2007. It focuses on Western artists. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies, conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. It is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; Sustainability; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides free, open access searching and browsing of images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs. Topics range from the installation of the NYC subway system to hot air ballooning.
Includes Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Oxford Art Online contains articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.  Many of these images of art are not available freely online. 
The catalog (PPOC) of the Library of Congress contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library. The catalog provides access through group or item records to about 50% of the Division's holdings. About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations. The Library provides rights information wherever possible as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron. An online exhibit area of selected historical materials is at the Prints and Photographs: an illustrated guide.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7!

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    Stop by the Ask Us Desk for help. The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library.

  • Research Tutoring
    Research tutoring is for quick questions, tips, and strategies on finding and evaluating information resources.  Research Tutoring is located in the Knowledge Market on the first floor and is available Monday–Thursday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm and Friday from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. 

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment.  Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use Research Tutoring.  

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

For research help, call 303-315-7711, Monday – Friday, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. If there is no answer, please leave a message and someone will return your call within 24 hours (Monday – Friday).

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.