Auraria Library is closed until further notice due to the COVID-19 health emergency. For information and updates please visit Auraria Library Safe Return Plan page.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Biographies"Results: 10

Best Bets

Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists. Updated weekly.
Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index." Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for authors worldwide.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) provides full-text access to critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres. Entries also include listings of the author's most important writings and citations to writings about the author. Browse individual volumes in DLB's main, documentary and yearbook series online.
Gale eBooks (previously Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. A multitude of topic areas are covered, including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Browse the Gale eBooks Title List to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Grangers poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full-text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.
Includes Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Oxford Art Online contains articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.  Many of these images of art are not available freely online. 
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) includes Grove Music Online (full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Includes streaming videos with commentary and samples of music.
Find biographical profiles of authors and illustrators of books for young people as well as illustrations, author photos, and citations for further research.
This website is a resource for all who are interested in the subject of women lawyers in the United States. Contained therein are a number of studies, in biographical form, of the lives of individual women lawyers, and the movements and philosophies that inspired and sustained them.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7!

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    Stop by the Ask Us Desk for help. The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library.

  • Research Tutoring
    Research tutoring is for quick questions, tips, and strategies on finding and evaluating information resources.  Research Tutoring is located in the Knowledge Market on the first floor and is available Monday–Thursday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm and Friday from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. 

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment.  Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use Research Tutoring.  

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

For research help, call 303-315-7711, Monday – Friday, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. If there is no answer, please leave a message and someone will return your call within 24 hours (Monday – Friday).

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.