The Auraria Library resumed limited in-person services. For additional information and updates, please visit the Safe Return Plan and Library Hours pages.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Geography and GIS"Results: 12
A database of world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps.
Articles, books, journals, and figures in environmental studies including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
Access more than 100,000 educational films and 300,000 video clips covering a wide spectrum of subject disciplines. Most streaming videos are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management systems, and other materials. Note: To link to a video or video segment, click on "Share" under the video you are watching and then click on the Embed/Link tab. Copy the URL in the Record URL box. Do NOT copy the URL in the web browser, as that URL expires quickly. 
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this is a comprehensive geosciences database containing millions of  bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations in diverse fields such as geochemistry, soils, paleontology, economic geology, palynology, and applied geophysics. Includes GeoRef in Process content.
Full text access to a collection of high impact geosciences journals. Individual figures and images are searched and may be downloaded. Journals include AAPG Bulletin, American Mineralogist, Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America, Economic Geology, Geochemical Perspectives, Journal of Environmental & Engineering Geophysics, Journal of Foraminiferal Research, Rocky Mountain Geology, and the Vadose Zone Journal.
The National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) collection is a complete archive of National Geographic magazine archive from 1888 to the present along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos, including the advertisements and letters to the editor.
OpenSky is the open access institutional repository supporting the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) which manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) in Boulder, Colorado and the UCAR Community Programs (UCP), extending free and open access for the benefit of research and education.
Hundreds of full text digitized journals, with content ranging from the early 19th century to the year 2000. Titles cover subject matter primarily in the social sciences and humanities, including psychology, literature, history, linguistics, religion, sociology, geography, performing arts, political science, economics, philosophy, archaeology, anthropology, and education. The Auraria Library subscribes to the Foundation Collection and Collections 5, 6, 7 and 9. Some journals are in non-English languages, including German, Spanish, French, and Italian. PAO is a Chadwyck-Healey Database.
Create and save demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. Also useful in developing an understanding of the census data is an e-book on the history of the census, Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000. Tip: Start with the maps and tables.
The National Geologic Map Database contains digital copies of recent and historic geologic maps of the United States and its territories from over 60 publishers including the USGS, state geological surveys, other governmental agencies, societies, universities and private sector publishers. Features include an advanced search, stratigraphic charts and guidelines, an index of geologic terms, information about current geologic mapping projects, and MapView, a map-based visual browsing interface.
Database from the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) water data (stream flow, ground water levels and water quality), publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events.
Massive collection of scholarly materials covers virtually all topic areas. Cited by and cites is tabulated and results cab be sorted on this field. Content, including articles, proceedings, and more, is pulled from these collections, and is cross-searchable: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities; Book Citation Index“ Science/Social Sciences & Humanities; Current Chemical Reactions (including Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840); Index Chemicus; BIOSIS Citation Index and Previews (1926-present); Current Contents Connect; Data Citation Index (1900-present); Derwent Innovations Index; KCI-Korean Journal Database; MEDLINE (1950-present); Russian Science Citation Index; SciELO Citation Index; and Zoological Record®.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7! (Holidays excluded.)

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • What Help is Available?
    Please visit our Safe Return page for the latest updates about what services are currently available.

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library and provides in-person help by answering questions about the Library, Campus, or three Institutions. This service also loans anatomical items, technology items (such as phone charges and calculators), plus course reserves, or textbooks, for some classes. Please visit the Safe Return page for information about when this service will be available.

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment. We can help you out via Zoom or over the phone. Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use our 24/7 chat service.

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.