Search for Databases by Keyword
The ARTFL project databases include FRANTEXT, which provides over 3500 texts ranging from 12th to the 20th century, French Women Writers from the 16th-19th centuries, Provencal Poetry, Textes de Francais Ancien, Journal de Trevoux, Dictionnaire historique and critoqie and Opera del Vocabolario Italiano. The Reference Collection includes numerous historical French dictionaries, verb conjugators, the great Encyclopedia of Diederot and D'Alembert, and many other works.
Supplies citations to more than a quarter of million reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction English-language books published in magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and books. Includes an excerpt of each review.
"CLCD is an extensive collection of full text reviews of children's literature (books, multimedia and audio books). There are entries for national, state, and international award entries dating back to 1922. Also included are author and illustrator links. Search by keyword, author, title and subject; filter by reading level, age, grade and interest level; and then view, sort and distribute the results. Search for children's literature based on reader's age, grade, language, author, interest level, reading level, genre, and many other data points. Includes an extensive collection of reviews and entries for award entries dating back to 1922." Users can register for MyCLDC and build, save, revisit and share - saved searches, lists and bibliographies. Graduates retain access through the first year!
The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) provides full-text access to critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres. Entries also include listings of the author's most important writings and citations to writings about the author. Browse individual volumes in DLB's main, documentary and yearbook series online.
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries of the English language, 600 - 1150 A.D. Currently, words beginning with the letters A-G are represented. The DOE is also linked to the Library's Oxford English Dictionary (OED) subscription. If the DOE refers to an OED entry a click of the entry's link will take the user directly to OED.
Online 24/7 access to more than 22,000 educational films and 229,000 video clips covering a wide spectrum of subject disciplines. Many of these streaming videos are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments. Tens of thousands of streaming educational videos and clips, covering most subject disciplines. The majority are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments.
Investiga las noticias y eventos mas actuales, la informacion de negocios del momento, los articulos de salud mas importantes, temas de cultura popular, y muchas otras materias incluidas en las revistas hispanas mas populares. En lugar de mandar un enlace al articulo, mandese una copia del articulo.
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
A growing historical collection which searches and displays word-entries from hundreds of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods (1480-17455).
Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through millions of quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialized periodicals, to film scripts and cook books. Hundreds of new entries are added annually.
Thousands of full text classic works and firsthand accounts in books, documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S. history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political science and law, language, and philosophy and religion. Choose Browse Collections to locate classical speeches, Shakespeare, the log of the Mayflower, Newton's Principia, and much more.