Auraria Library is closed until further notice due to the COVID-19 health emergency. For information and updates please visit Auraria Library Safe Return Plan page.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Literature"Results: 35
America's Historical Imprints makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it includes the more than 37,000 works. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
Presents digitized American magazine and journal articles published from colonial days to 1900. The subject content is varied. Sample contents include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine; America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions; publications that reflect on the debate over slavery; literary publications like Massachusetts Magazine; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking publications like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
The ARTFL project databases include FRANTEXT, which provides over 3500 texts ranging from 12th to the 20th century, French Women Writers from the 16th-19th centuries, Provencal Poetry, Textes de Francais Ancien, Journal de Trevoux, Dictionnaire historique and critoqie and Opera del Vocabolario Italiano. The Reference Collection includes numerous historical French dictionaries, verb conjugators, the great Encyclopedia of Diederot and D'Alembert, and many other works.
This streaming video collection contains these Shakespeare plays, all with closed captions available: All's Well that Ends Well, Antony and Cleopatra, As You Like It, The Comedy of Errors, Coriolanus, Cymbeline, Henry IV - Parts 1 & 2, Henry V, Henry VI - Parts 1, 2, & 3, Henry VII, Julius Caesar, King John, King Lear, Love's Labour's Lost, Macbeth, Measure for Measure, Merchant of Venice, Merry Wives of Windsor, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Much Ado About Nothing, Othello, Pericles, Richard II, Richard III, Romeo & Juliet, Taming of the Shrew, The Tempest, Timon of Athens, Titus Andronicus, Troilus & Cressida, Twelfth Night, and Two Gentlemen of Verona.
Supplies citations to more than a quarter of million reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction English-language books published in magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and books. Includes an excerpt of each review.
Contains substantial downloadable essays with chronologies and guides to further reading. Covers literature, poetry, theatre, philosophy, religion, historical and cultural topics, as well as scholarly writings covering major authors, artists, philosophers, topics, and time periods. Addresses subjects and figures as diverse as Gothic Fiction and Arabic Philosophy, Tom Stoppard and Martin Luther, Jane Austin and Stravinsky.
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for authors worldwide.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) provides full-text access to critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres. Entries also include listings of the author's most important writings and citations to writings about the author. Browse individual volumes in DLB's main, documentary and yearbook series online.
The Drama Online Library features full text plays from both iconic and contemporary playwrights. All plays may be downloaded or printed. Additionally, this collection supplies writings on playwrights and theatre-related topics through online scholarly works and practical guides. Locate plays by title, playwright, genre, the number of cast members, and the number of scenes. Monologues are easily identified. Information on production rights is attached to every play. Sample playwrights represented in Drama Online include Ibsen, Chekhov, Brecht, Pirandello, Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde, Noel Coward, Alan Ayckbourn, and Tom Stoppard. Users can create character grids for all plays, showing which scenes each character is in and offering the ability to see only the lines and stage directions of one character. Preferred browsers for this database are IE or Firefox.  If you use Chrome, clear your cache and cookies.  
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews from journals and books. Also, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present, and thousands of images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Grangers poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full-text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; Sustainability; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
The Left Index is a guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present.
Profiles of the lives and works of literary authors whose works are valued in the English language, and other prominent figures such as philosophers and musicians whose lives and works are of interest to the literary reader.
A directory of the publishing industry, including book publishers, literary agents, distributors and sales representatives,wholesalers, importers and exporters, translators, literary associations, and more. Searches may be limited by such criteria as subject, region, and publication type.
Literary Criticism Online (LCO) contains full text critical literary commentary from several well-known resources: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism and Short Story Criticism. LCO also links to Gale Literary Index, an index to additional literary compendiums.
A cross searchable and ever-growing virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Displays the original text beside the English translation.
Describes journals included in the MLA International Bibliograhy, and includes information of interest to those interested in writing for these publications.
Indexes critical literary and language scholarship and provides access to journals and serials, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
The New Oxford Shakespeare presents a new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship. Additionally, it contains links to images for the appropriate folios and quartos, which are housed in the digital collections of the Bodleian Library, British Library, Folger Library, and Internet Shakespeare at the University of Victoria.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7!

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    Stop by the Ask Us Desk for help. The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library.

  • Research Tutoring
    Research tutoring is for quick questions, tips, and strategies on finding and evaluating information resources.  Research Tutoring is located in the Knowledge Market on the first floor and is available Monday–Thursday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm and Friday from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. 

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment.  Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use Research Tutoring.  

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

For research help, call 303-315-7711, Monday – Friday, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. If there is no answer, please leave a message and someone will return your call within 24 hours (Monday – Friday).

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.