Search for Databases by Keyword
Academic, professional and consumer Information on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including vegetarianism, massage, medicinal herbs, yoga, homeopathic medicine, hypnosis, Chinese medicine, aromatherapy, and acupuncture.
Herbal medicine information including access to the COMMISSION E MONOGRAPHS, HerbalGram, the HerbClip Online and Healthy Ingredients databases, and the reference books: ABC Clinical Guide to Herbs and The Identification of Medicinal Plants.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) and the NLM partnered to index articles on complementary medicine. This research data has been added to the larger PubMed database. CAM on PubMed is a subset of PubMed and is searched through restricting PubMed searches to those items indexed as "related to complementary and alternative medicine". Access CAM on PubMed through this link to be automatically directed to the full text resources available only to students, faculty and staff at the Auraria Campus. Non-Auraria patrons use this access point to search the public version of the CAM on PubMed index.
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies. Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Based on the best available information about healthcare interventions, Cochrane reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.
Community Facts (The Piton Foundation) provides detailed and current information about Denver's 77 neighborhoods and the 7-County Denver Metro Region. It includes data, maps and graphs about each neighborhood's population, housing, economic and education characteristics, and the health and safety of its residents.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine and many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
DynaMed is an evidence-based, clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. Includes clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. You may subscribe to the free newsletter, DynaMed Weekly Update.
Online 24/7 access to more than 22,000 educational films and 229,000 video clips covering a wide spectrum of subject disciplines. Many of these streaming videos are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments. Tens of thousands of streaming educational videos and clips, covering most subject disciplines. The majority are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management shells, or other online environments.
Index to medical reference materials, magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, a drug finder, directories, and government information. Includes Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, and health videos from Healthology, Inc., pamphlets and health-related articles from general interest publications.
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of freely accessible, web-based multimedia teaching materials including teaching images, videos, animations, presentations, and audio files that support healthcare education, predominantly undergraduate medical education.
Index to magazines and journals in the health and related fields, many articles available online. Provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the personal health information sources in the Health Reference Center.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Auraria campus users (faculty, staff, students) must register for a personal ICPSR account from an on-campus, networked computer (or a VPN connection) to be able to download data.
JoVE is both a journal, Journal of Visualized Experiments, and a database, JoVE Science Education Database, of filmed experiments, published (peer-reviewed) in video format to make visible the subtle, intricate techniques involved in research. Subjects covered include biology, neurosciences, medicine, bioengineering, engineering, genetics, cancer research, immunology and infection, chemistry, behavior, environment, developmental biology, biochemistry, psychology, and clinical skills JoVE journal articles are indexed in PubMed Central.
Find videos ranging from documentaries and educational programming, worldwide, on a wealth of topics, to silent and foreign feature films. Distributors include The Teaching Company, Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, and others.
Medline is the research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Medline records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) using these subject headings adds accuracy to a search. See also: PubMed (US National Library of Medicine) Medline is the primary component of PubMed. MEDLINEplus (US National Library of Medicine) This is the consumer help version (also available in Spanish).