Auraria Library is closed until further notice due to the COVID-19 health emergency. For information and updates please visit Auraria Library Safe Return Plan page.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Music"Results: 19
A collection of information about opera and operatic arias. The Database includes translations for many arias and provides access to a collection of operatic MIDI files to give visitors an idea of what each aria sounds like. Currently, the Database holds information on the complete operatic aria collections of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini as well as the partial collections of over 50 other composers.
This regularly updated bulletin lists employment, internship, and summer job opportunities in theater, music, visual and fine arts, and related fields.
Begun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.
A multi-label database of recordings for listening and learning. Covers music from medieval times to the present. Also provides biographies and images of composers and a concise history of music by period. (Time periods covered include medieval, renaissance, baroque, pre-classical, classical, romantic, late-romantic, 20th century, and 21st century.) Music is streamed, so off-campus users need to have a minimum of a 56K modem to hear music uninterrupted by buffering. Mobile enabled.
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Its primary focus is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. Requires Firefox or Chrome browser - Popups, JavaScript and cookies must be allowed.
IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. It provides the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
Music Index covers international music periodicals and covers all styles and genres of music. It focuses on peer-reviewed publications, and also cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, as well as news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Music Industry Data provides statistics and commentary on the impact of music across countries and cultures. It enables evidence-based research across all genres from pop to classical, jazz and world music.
Formerly titled International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMPFT), the Music Database contains detailed abstracts and full text content of articles in music publications from both peer-reviewed and popular sources. Music Periodicals is a Chadwyck-Healey Database.
The magazine that calls itself "The business source for the performing arts." Events, press releases, links and some searches of artists, managers, and companies and organizations.
Naxos Music Library Jazz (NMLJ) is a streaming audio database that offers an extensive selection of music from jazz legends and contemporary jazz. Includes recordings and discographies of artists and musicians and groups. New albums are added weekly. Users can create playlists. Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser.
Naxos Music Library (NML) is an online music library offering streaming access to classical, jazz, and world music labels including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, Naxos, ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. It also contains film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content as well as spoken word (radio shows), and nature sounds (see the classical genre list). Users can create playlists. Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser.
Opera in Video is a near-comprehensive collection of Western operas, captured on video Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. The database also includes interviews and documentaries on opera. Users can view operas in their entirety or scene by scene, read transcripts, and select and share clips.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) includes Grove Music Online (full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Includes streaming videos with commentary and samples of music.
Music, theatre and dance collections from the Library of Congress.
A Repository of Foundation-Sponsored Reports. Provides a searchable database of annotated links to electronic versions of reports and issue briefs created by or with arts foundation resources in the U.S.
Use RILM to discover writings on music from a variety of resources, including journals, essay collections, dissertations, books, reference materials. Coverage includes diverse topics ranging from hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, and from elementary music education to advanced music theory.
An international bibliography of scholarly writings and primary source documents (journal articles, reviews, news columns and advertisements) on 19th century musical history and culture including ethnomusicology, genres of music, history of musicology, instruments, music theory, notation, performance practice, theory and analysis. RIPM primarily provides abstracts; users may request copies of articles through interlibrary loan.
RBP is a monster database of rock journalism online. It is an archive of legendary interviews, classic features, and groundbreaking reviews by the best rock writers of all time. Interviews and reviews cover thousands of artists from Elvis Presley to Eminem, the Rolling Stones to the Stone Roses, and AC/DC to Amy Winehouse. Both popular and obscure artists get their due here. Enjoy!  

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7!

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    Stop by the Ask Us Desk for help. The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library.

  • Research Tutoring
    Research tutoring is for quick questions, tips, and strategies on finding and evaluating information resources.  Research Tutoring is located in the Knowledge Market on the first floor and is available Monday–Thursday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm and Friday from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. 

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment.  Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use Research Tutoring.  

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

For research help, call 303-315-7711, Monday – Friday, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. If there is no answer, please leave a message and someone will return your call within 24 hours (Monday – Friday).

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.