The Auraria Library resumed limited in-person services starting Aug. 17th. For additional information, please visit the Auraria Library Safe Return Plan page.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Newspapers and Current Events"Results: 40
Full access to American newspapers, magazines, and other primary source materials, from the 19th and 18th centuries. Titles include a collection of African American newspapers, the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), a number of South Carolina newspapers, The Liberator (1831-1865), and Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898). Books include county histories, Civil War memoirs, pamphlets from the post-Civil War Reconstruction period, regimental histories, women's suffrage materials, and more.
A searchable collection of full text facsimiles of 19th-century newspapers from across the nation, chronicling American culture, daily life, and events. A handful of Colorado newspapers are part of this database, including The Rocky Mountain News from 1873 to 1898.
Includes thousands of full text local, regional, national and international newspapers, as well as newswires, blogs, and more. Has Colorado publications, including The Denver Post.
American Indian Newspapers is an archival collection of 45 print newspapers from Indigenous peoples of the United States and Canada from 1828-2016. It includes national newspapers as well as local community news and student publications. Among the 45 titles are a number of bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee, and Diné languages. The newspapers included in this resource have been sourced from the Newberry Library and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock.
The Black Studies Center brings together historical and contemporary material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, which examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays, accompanied by detailed timelines along with research articles, images, film clips and more; the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), which has current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from multi-disciplinary scholarly journals and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals; The Chicago Defender, with 1910 to 1975 full-text presented from this influential black newspaper; ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, containing a thousand doctoral dissertations and Masters’ theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to Black Studies; and the Black Literature Index, which enables users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Use the Gale Business Collection to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. This collection replaces PROMT, Business Index ASAP, Business & Company ASAP, and General Business File.
Leading newspaper and website in the field of higher education. Publishes The Chronicle of Higher Education, The Chronicle of Philanthropy, Arts & Letters Daily, and The Chronicle Review.
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes digitized pages representing individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, CHNC does not generally include newspapers published after 1923.
The Colorado Sun is a journalist-owned news outlet based in Denver. The Colorado Sun covers Colorado news with a stated commitment to fact-based, in-depth and non-partisan journalism.
American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service yet only a portion of their CRS Reports are released to the public. Through the cooperation of individuals and several academic institutions, CRS reports at UNT (University of North Texas) provides citizen access to public domain CRS Reports.
Provides easy to read reports on important contemporary and historic “hot topics.”  Each report includes a pro/con review of the issue.

A wide range of topics are covered, from social and political issues to environment, health, education, crime, climate change, public policy, and science and technology. Reports often include a chronology, contacts and maps and graphs. The resources used are fully cited and often available to read.
The online version of the weekly Denver business publication, Denver Business Journal. Limited to 15 simultaneous users.
The current Denver Post Collection supplies cross-searchable text-only access (no images) to the Denver’s daily newspaper from 1989 to the present. The Historical Archive offers full-text digital editions, including images, of this major Colorado newspaper. When complete, the paper will be searchable from the year of its inception, 1894, through 1989. The currently missing years, 1940-1946, can be meanwhile accessed on microfilm in the Auraria Library. The Denver Post website.
Denverite is a member-supported news organization covering the Denver metro areas.
A rich resource for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including the American and French revolutions, British and European literature, theatre and popular entertainment, politics and religion, popular morality and social life, and exoticism and imperialism. It offers a wide variety of fully searchable newspapers and periodicals unavailable elsewhere.
EMIS, Emerging Market Information Service, presents news, industry information, company profiles, reports, and financial data, closing price quotes, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts, and legal and political news from emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, and Central and Eastern Europe including the Baltic States and Russia. Searches can be narrowed to resources in English though they include many articles in over a dozen languages. New Dashboard allows you to see the latest news by country, company news, industry reports and company reports, and to go directly to an industry. On campus link to EMIS..
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. The complete collection also includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Together, these resources provide access to a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications, including articles from major scholarly journals on ethnic studies.
Provides a collection of articles from authoritative business sources, including the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B and Bureau van Dijk company profiles. To search for a specific journal or newspaper use 'More Search Options' next to the search box.  Note: If the database does not load, refresh the page. 
An index to thousands of local, national, and international newspapers. Some content is full text; some citation only. This collection provides access to full text newspapers and allows searching for current and archived news by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or etc. Previously known as National Newspaper Index (NNI).
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full text articles, many with images.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7! (Holidays excluded.)

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • What Help is Available?
    Please visit our Safe Return page for the latest updates about what services are currently available.

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library and provides in-person help by answering questions about the Library, Campus, or three Institutions. This service also loans anatomical items, technology items (such as phone charges and calculators), plus course reserves, or textbooks, for some classes. Please visit the Safe Return page for information about when this service will be available.

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment. We can help you out via Zoom or over the phone. Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use our 24/7 chat service.

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.