The Auraria Library resumed limited in-person services. For additional information and updates, please visit the Safe Return Plan and Library Hours pages.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Political Science"Results: 23
Series 1 (1691-1820) includes works imported by the colonists, to later titles published on American soil; Series 2 (1821-1837) represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history; Series 3 (1838-1852) reveals a rapidly growing nation; and Series 4 (1853-1865) focuses on the Civil War. Each series also contains news of daily life and broad subject matter, including writings on science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, entertainment, politics, and religion. Series 5 (1866-1912) Themes presented in this series reflect a nation that persevered through a bloody civil war; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.   Series 6, supplied by Gale publishers, complements the content in parts 1-5 of this series, supplied by Ebsco publishers. Please see separate entry for parts 6: American Historical Periodicals Part 6
Cross-search primary source materials related to colonial America and the early Republic. Includes the papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, Dolley Madison, James Madison, Dolley Madison, John Marshall, George Washington, and others, as well as a Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Enter to see the collections available through Auraria Library.
American Indian Newspapers is an archival collection of 45 print newspapers from Indigenous peoples of the United States and Canada from 1828-2016. It includes national newspapers as well as local community news and student publications. Among the 45 titles are a number of bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee, and Diné languages. The newspapers included in this resource have been sourced from the Newberry Library and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock.
The State Publications Library provides Colorado residents with convenient access to information produced by state government through a system of acquiring and loaning publications as well as answering questions related to state information. State publications are valuable sources of information published by state agencies that include annual reports, budgets, planning reports, newsletters, consumer information, legislative reports, and directories. They cover a wide variety of topics including health, business, education, crime, agriculture, mining, employment, taxes, water quality, wildlife, and the environment.
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and the Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
A full text, searchable collection of historical documents from the UK National Archives. Covers such important events as the 19th century Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Suez Crisis in 1956, the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Contents include letters, telegrams, dispatches describing important personalities or economic analysis, and large volumes, or texts of treaties. All items originally marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service yet only a portion of their CRS Reports are released to the public. Through the cooperation of individuals and several academic institutions, CRS reports at UNT (University of North Texas) provides citizen access to public domain CRS Reports.
Contains more than 100,000 previously classified and unavailable U.S. Government documents containing information on critical world events, foreign relations, and U.S. policy writings from post-World War II through the 21st century. Diverse contents include presidential directives, memos, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and more. There are also glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs.
Abstracts and full text of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center using the EBSCO interface. Future additions to the EBSCO collection may include audio and video materials.
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government - Executive (including departments and agencies), Legislative, and Judicial. Service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO). Formerly named FDsys and GPO Access.
HeinOnline Academic is a government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set, 2600+ scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law, and U.S. Supreme Court cases, powered by Fastcase Premium. This resource also provides access to special collections on Criminal Justice, Executive Privilege, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, American Indian Law, Civil Rights and Social Justice, COVID-19 in America, GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions, the Electoral College, and a special collection on Impeachment.
Policy, strategy, and presidential documents; theses and other reports from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.  Need help with ICPSR data?
The Left Index is a guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present.
Article citations and summaries for law-related topics from law reviews and journals. Some documents available online.
Provides access to documents from the highest level of U.K. government during the administration of Prime Minister Harold Macmillan.
Links to descriptions of individual publication series which are produced at the Hazards Center.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Factbook contains economic, environmental and social statistics for the OECD countries (mostly European) using over 100 different economic indicators.
Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7! (Holidays excluded.)

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • What Help is Available?
    Please visit our Safe Return page for the latest updates about what services are currently available.

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library and provides in-person help by answering questions about the Library, Campus, or three Institutions. This service also loans anatomical items, technology items (such as phone charges and calculators), plus course reserves, or textbooks, for some classes. Please visit the Safe Return page for information about when this service will be available.

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment. We can help you out via Zoom or over the phone. Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use our 24/7 chat service.

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.