The Auraria Library resumed limited in-person services. For additional information and updates, please visit the Safe Return Plan and Library Hours pages.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "United States History"Results: 51
Full access to American newspapers, magazines, and other primary source materials, from the 19th and 18th centuries. Titles include a collection of African American newspapers, the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), a number of South Carolina newspapers, The Liberator (1831-1865), and Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898). Books include county histories, Civil War memoirs, pamphlets from the post-Civil War Reconstruction period, regimental histories, women's suffrage materials, and more.
A searchable collection of full text facsimiles of 19th-century newspapers from across the nation, chronicling American culture, daily life, and events. A handful of Colorado newspapers are part of this database, including The Rocky Mountain News from 1873 to 1898.
PowerSearch the Gale Databases. News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations. 
Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
America's Historical Imprints makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it includes the more than 37,000 works. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on North American historical topics from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for historical coverage beyond the US and Canada.
Series 1 (1691-1820) includes works imported by the colonists, to later titles published on American soil; Series 2 (1821-1837) represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history; Series 3 (1838-1852) reveals a rapidly growing nation; and Series 4 (1853-1865) focuses on the Civil War. Each series also contains news of daily life and broad subject matter, including writings on science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, entertainment, politics, and religion. Series 5 (1866-1912) Themes presented in this series reflect a nation that persevered through a bloody civil war; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.   Series 6, supplied by Gale publishers, complements the content in parts 1-5 of this series, supplied by Ebsco publishers. Please see separate entry for parts 6: American Historical Periodicals Part 6
Cross-search primary source materials related to colonial America and the early Republic. Includes the papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, Dolley Madison, James Madison, Dolley Madison, John Marshall, George Washington, and others, as well as a Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution. Enter to see the collections available through Auraria Library.
This collection includes unique and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Topics cover a broad spectrum including agriculture, anthropology, art, archaeology, education, family life, fashion, industrialization, literature, medicine, music, photography, politics, religion, science, sport and temperance.  Series 6, supplied by Gale publishers, complements the content in parts 1-5 of this series, supplied by Ebsco publishers. Please see separate entry for parts 1-5: American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5.
The full-text materials in this collection cover 11 broad areas related to Native Americans from the time prior to North American colonization to the 20th century Rights Movement. Areas covered, related to indigenous peoples of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties, wars, trade, and 20th century political activism, among others. The primary source documents in this collection includes maps, atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, and more drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library. Cross-searchable with the Library's subscription to The American West collection.
American Indian Newspapers is an archival collection of 45 print newspapers from Indigenous peoples of the United States and Canada from 1828-2016. It includes national newspapers as well as local community news and student publications. Among the 45 titles are a number of bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee, and Diné languages. The newspapers included in this resource have been sourced from the Newberry Library and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock.
Presents digitized American magazine and journal articles published from colonial days to 1900. The subject content is varied. Sample contents include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine; America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions; publications that reflect on the debate over slavery; literary publications like Massachusetts Magazine; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking publications like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Auraria Library owns two of the "Archives Unbound" collections which were digitized from microfilm collections. Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life documents daily life in the forced U.S. internment camps. Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 presents writings and images representing the arduous travels of an estimated half a million settlers who crossed the U.S. West on trails spanning the time of the earliest wagon trains to the building of the transcontinental railroad in 1869.
The Black Studies Center brings together historical and contemporary material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, which examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays, accompanied by detailed timelines along with research articles, images, film clips and more; the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), which has current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from multi-disciplinary scholarly journals and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals; The Chicago Defender, with 1910 to 1975 full-text presented from this influential black newspaper; ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, containing a thousand doctoral dissertations and Masters’ theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to Black Studies; and the Black Literature Index, which enables users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Use Cambridge core to simultaneously search the contents of hundreds of journals from Cambridge University Press, Cambridge Companions, Shakespeare Surveys, and other Cambridge books.
View a variety of full-text newspapers from 1836 to 1922 from most U.S. states. Chronicling America also includes a directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690. This directory can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes digitized pages representing individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, CHNC does not generally include newspapers published after 1923.
The current Denver Post Collection supplies cross-searchable text-only access (no images) to the Denver’s daily newspaper from 1989 to the present. The Historical Archive offers full-text digital editions, including images, of this major Colorado newspaper. When complete, the paper will be searchable from the year of its inception, 1894, through 1989. The currently missing years, 1940-1946, can be meanwhile accessed on microfilm in the Auraria Library. The Denver Post website.
Written by academic specialists, the signed and original articles in this resource range from 100-word definitions to 7,000-word essays. Topics range from specific places, incidents, and institutions to broadly sweeping concepts, covering all aspects of American history and daily life including sports, diplomacy, labor, art, economics, wars, institutions, legends, places, scandals, Acts of Congress, cultural icons, government agencies and much more. Illustrations and maps are also included.
Contains more than 100,000 previously classified and unavailable U.S. Government documents containing information on critical world events, foreign relations, and U.S. policy writings from post-World War II through the 21st century. Diverse contents include presidential directives, memos, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and more. There are also glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7! (Holidays excluded.)

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • What Help is Available?
    Please visit our Safe Return page for the latest updates about what services are currently available.

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library and provides in-person help by answering questions about the Library, Campus, or three Institutions. This service also loans anatomical items, technology items (such as phone charges and calculators), plus course reserves, or textbooks, for some classes. Please visit the Safe Return page for information about when this service will be available.

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment. We can help you out via Zoom or over the phone. Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use our 24/7 chat service.

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.