All databases related to - "Alexander Street"Results: 22
Multidisciplinary streaming video collection which touches on virtually all curricular needs. Contents are continually growing and includes tens of thousands of videos from producers and distributors worldwide.
Asian American Drama is an online collection that brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection represents the various ethnicities within the Asian American community, and includes works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, and Chinese descent, and also includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry.
"Black Drama, now in its third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others." (Alexander Street Press)
"Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before." (Alexander Street Press)
This collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covers 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, this resource includes a significant amount of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, oral histories, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism. Many of the writings have been hidden in rare and hard to find texts, obscure typewritten documents, photocopied journals, and other fugitive sources.
Includes text, videos, and images related to the fields of border(land) studies and migration studies at the international level. Topics include Border identities, border enforcement and control, border disputes, border criminologies, maritime borders, human trafficking, sea migration, undocumented and unauthorized migration, and global governance of migration.
Online collection of videos (CTIV) available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes counseling sessions/demonstrations, consultations, interviews, lectures and presentations. Online transcripts and video clip-making tools are also provided.
Dance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Interdisciplinary database with 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video about the disciplines of disability history and disability studies.
Engineering Case Studies Online provides a single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. The collection contains quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world. Content is growing but currently includes airline and train crashes, space program disasters, dam, bridge & tunnel collapses, oil spills, refinery & other chemical plant explosions and spills, nuclear plant and submarine disasters, and the September 11 attacks among others.
Environmental Issues online is a multi-disciplinary database including social sciences, the biological and earth sciences, the humanities, legal studies, and policy. It includes multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges of the 20th and 21st centuries, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, energy pollution, conservation, agriculture, deforestation, consumption and waste issues, land issues and more. The comprehensive database is curated around specific environmental issues and events for student researchers and others to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment and explores them through comparative, historical, global, and interdisciplinary aspects.
Award-winning streaming video documentaries including coverage of race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, dance, literature, and more. Synchronized, searchable transcripts run alongside each video.Users can create, annotate, and organize clips.and include links to other content. Permanent URLs let users cite and share whole videos, playlists, and custom clips.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Provides access to materials about the history and current status of incarceration in the United States and globally, including detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries. Materials include court cases, first-hand accounts of prison experiences, legal and government documents, training materials, policies and laws, videos, and articles. Topics include the death penalty, history of correctional institutions for juvenile offenders, internment camps, prison gangs and riots, the loss of rights for prisoners, economics of mass incarceration, reentry, famous prisons and prisoners, prison in popular culture, and prison policy.
A multi-label database of recordings for listening and learning. Covers music from medieval times to the present. Also provides biographies and images of composers and a concise history of music by period. (Time periods covered include medieval, renaissance, baroque, pre-classical, classical, romantic, late-romantic, 20th century, and 21st century.) Music is streamed, so off-campus users need to have a minimum of a 56K modem to hear music uninterrupted by buffering. Formerly called Classical Music Library.  Mobile enabled.
This resource contains 250+ full-text plays representing the stories and creative energies of twentieth century American Indian and First Nation playwrights. Many of the plays are previously unpublished or difficult to find.
This collection includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Opera in Video is a near-comprehensive collection of Western operas, captured on video Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. The database also includes interviews and documentaries on opera. Users can view operas in their entirety or scene by scene, read transcripts, and select and share clips.
Provides access to videos, primary sources, articles, reports, books, essays, images, and other content about how revolutions, protests, resistance, and social movements have shaped and transformed the human experience globally from the 18th to 21st century.