Auraria Library is closed until further notice due to the COVID-19 health emergency. For information and updates please visit Auraria Library Safe Return Plan page.

Close Menu

Databases list

Search for Databases by Keyword

All databases related to - "Images"Results: 10

Best Bets

A searchable collection of full text facsimiles of 19th-century newspapers from across the nation, chronicling American culture, daily life, and events. A handful of Colorado newspapers are part of this database, including The Rocky Mountain News from 1873 to 1898.
ARTstor is a digital library that contains hundreds of thousands of high-resolution images of art, architecture, and archaeological artifacts. Each image is accompanied by descriptive information. Access to ARTstor also offers our Auraria Campus Institutional Collections including ArchiVision (architecture) and JStor Forum, aka Shared Shelf aka the Auraria Digital Resources Collection (images created and shared by campus faculty).
A database of world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps.
The original documents in this collection related to Empire Studies span five centuries and chart the rise and fall of empires, including the history of British imperialism and colonization. Topics range from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others through decolonization in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American imperialism. Documents include manuscripts, rare printed materials, periodicals, diaries, letters, and photographs with writings by both women and men from European and non-European perspectives. Useful secondary materials include essays from leading academics in the field, interactive maps, images, and chronologies detailing cultural, economic, and political aspects of numerous empires.
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews from journals and books. Also, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present, and thousands of images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Collection of World War I primary sources including diaries, scrapbooks, propaganda pieces, trench and soldiers' journals, photos, correspondence, oral histories, sketches, paintings, cartoons, pamphlets, and sheet music. Resources are complemented by contextual secondary features, including interactive maps, chronologies, and scholarly essays. The Personal Experiences module offers a window on the lives and experiences of civilian and military men and women during the war the Propaganda and Recruitment module contains written and visual propaganda materials; and the Visual Perspectives and Narratives module presents international perspectives on the Great War through visual and documentary resources.
Index to general magazines, newspapers and reference sources, with many articles available online. A good source for popular culture, sports, etc.
Researchers can "explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more." Gale.
The National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) collection is a complete archive of National Geographic magazine archive from 1888 to the present along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos, including the advertisements and letters to the editor.
Find biographical profiles of authors and illustrators of books for young people as well as illustrations, author photos, and citations for further research.

Ask Us Chat

Use this chat box to ask a librarian for research help. We’re available 24/7!

Text

Text us your questions to 720-438-4446. We’ll answer from 9 am to 6 pm during the week and reply to after hours questions the next morning. (Your provider rates will apply.)

In-Person

  • Visit the Ask Us Desk
    Stop by the Ask Us Desk for help. The Ask Us Service Desk is located on the first floor of the Library.

  • Research Tutoring
    Research tutoring is for quick questions, tips, and strategies on finding and evaluating information resources.  Research Tutoring is located in the Knowledge Market on the first floor and is available Monday–Thursday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm and Friday from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. 

  • Research Consultations
    Research consultations are for in-depth and lengthy discussions about research questions. Please use Schedule a Research Consultation Form to request an appointment.  Due to the level of preparation needed, appointments should be made 48 hours in advance. If you need immediate help, please use Research Tutoring.  

Call

For general library information, as well as for questions about borrowing, renewing, or returning library materials, call 303-315-7763.

For research help, call 303-315-7711, Monday – Friday, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. If there is no answer, please leave a message and someone will return your call within 24 hours (Monday – Friday).

  • Friendly Man with a checklist

    Let's get started with using the library tools!

    Take a quick tour to learn about the research tools on this page.