Search for Databases by Keyword
This streaming video collection contains these Shakespeare plays, all with closed captions available: All's Well that Ends Well, Antony and Cleopatra, As You Like It, The Comedy of Errors, Coriolanus, Cymbeline, Henry IV - Parts 1 & 2, Henry V, Henry VI - Parts 1, 2, & 3, Henry VII, Julius Caesar, King John, King Lear, Love's Labour's Lost, Macbeth, Measure for Measure, Merchant of Venice, Merry Wives of Windsor, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Much Ado About Nothing, Othello, Pericles, Richard II, Richard III, Romeo & Juliet, Taming of the Shrew, The Tempest, Timon of Athens, Titus Andronicus, Troilus & Cressida, Twelfth Night, and Two Gentlemen of Verona.
Contains substantial downloadable essays with chronologies and guides to further reading. Covers literature, poetry, theatre, philosophy, religion, historical and cultural topics, as well as scholarly writings covering major authors, artists, philosophers, topics, and time periods. Addresses subjects and figures as diverse as Gothic Fiction and Arabic Philosophy, Tom Stoppard and Martin Luther, Jane Austin and Stravinsky.
The Drama Online Library features full text plays from both iconic and contemporary playwrights. All plays may be downloaded or printed. Additionally, this collection supplies writings on playwrights and theatre-related topics through online scholarly works and practical guides. Locate plays by title, playwright, genre, the number of cast members, and the number of scenes. Monologues are easily identified. Information on production rights is attached to every play. Sample playwrights represented in Drama Online include Ibsen, Chekhov, Brecht, Pirandello, Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde, Noel Coward, Alan Ayckbourn, and Tom Stoppard. Users can create character grids for all plays, showing which scenes each character is in and offering the ability to see only the lines and stage directions of one character. Preferred browsers for this database are IE or Firefox. If you use Chrome, clear your cache and cookies.
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews from journals and books. Also, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present, and thousands of images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Music Index covers international music periodicals and covers all styles and genres of music. It focuses on peer-reviewed publications, and also cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, as well as news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) includes Grove Music Online (full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Includes streaming videos with commentary and samples of music.
This index makes it possible to identify plays by a variety of criteria including: number of female/male characters, genre (comedy, monologue, etc.), topic, intended audience (child/adult), title, and playwright. Once a play is identified, open the record and select "Find this play in a book" to determine if the play is part of a collection of plays. The Library has many play collections and individual plays in its circulating collection and online.
Use RILM to discover writings on music from a variety of resources, including journals, essay collections, dissertations, books, reference materials. Coverage includes diverse topics ranging from hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, and from elementary music education to advanced music theory.
Showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.